Puerto Vallarta
Share: Tribune Travel facebook-icon Tribune Travel pint-icon Tribune Travel insta-icon
Alt Text
The Valley-Ameca Mountain Range is now a National Protected Area. This includes more than 225,000 hectares in Nayarit and Jalisco states

Sierra de Vallejo – Río Ameca, today a protected area

By Tribune Travel

January 26, 2024

The Mexican Government, through a decree by president Andrés Manuel López Obrador published on january 8th, of this year, has declared the Valley-Ameca Mountain Range as a Natural Protected Area with the status of a biosphere reserve.

This declaration covers the municipalities of Compostela and Bahía de Banderas in Nayarit, and Puerto Vallarta, Mascota, Mixtlán, and San Sebastián del Oeste in Jalisco, totaling over 556,000 acres. The region is located in the central-west part of Mexico.

Since 2010, Nayarit had already designated the Valley of Vallejo, from Bucerías to Guayabitos, as a State Biosphere Reserve. After 12 years, it has now been elevated to a federally recognized Natural Protected Area biosphere reserve.

Biologists and Civil Associations have highlighted the Valley-Ameca Range for its diverse flora and fauna. It serves as a habitat and sanctuary for the endangered jaguar, with an estimated population of six to ten jaguars per 100 square kilometers.

Notable bird species in the area include Swainson’s hawk, black hawk, red-tailed hawk, tiger heron, American stork, peregrine falcon, verdin, and green macaw.

The Valley also features Oak Forests, Oak-Pine Forests, Natural Palm Groves, and Induced Grasslands, among others.







This site uses cookies. If you continue browsing you are giving your consent to accept the Cookies policy & Privacy policy.